Mountain Apple Company ...

Category Navigation:

Ports of Paradise

Alfred Newman & Ken Darby

Availability: In stock.

Add Items to Cart

Product Description

"“All visitors ashore!""¦ was the familiar call from the ports of Tahiti, New Zealand, Fiji, Samoa and our beloved Hawai`œi in the 1950s. All who stepped foot on shore fell in love with the mystique and the romance of these magical islands including two distinguished American composers, Alfred Newman and Ken Darby. Combined, these two brilliant men have composed for such award-winning films as The King and I, Wuthering Heights and How the West Was Won. After experiencing the islands, and working with similar arrangements on films South Pacific and Bird of Paradise, they found it impossible to put down their conductor batons and ignore the wondrous and alluring sights and sounds of Hawai`œi. In 1960, they produced for Capitol Records, this album, Ports of Paradise, calling it "“a culmination and most definitive expression of the enchantment which (they) have found in the moods, the repose, the mystery of those far-off places."

1. Ports of Paradise
2. The Enchanted Sea
3. Blue Tahitian Moon
4. Farewell For Just A While
5. Now Is The Hour
6. Isa Lei
7. Whispering Wind
8. My Little Grass Shack
9. Forever More
10. Madonna of The Flowers
11. To You Sweetheart, Aloha

Search Site

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.