Mountain Apple Company ...

Category Navigation:

More Views

Sea of Love

Raiatea Helm

Availability: In stock.

Add Items to Cart

Product Description

Twice-Grammy® nominated international Hawaiian recording star, Raiatea Helm adds to her list of award-winning music with the release of her long-awaited solo CD Sea of Love.  As a courageous “new traditionalist” of Hawaiian music, Raiatea Helm’s collection of songs in Sea of Love takes the musical stylings of the late 1950’s and early 1960’s and makes them fresh through vibrant, innovative arrangements. This collection of songs draws upon the signature sounds of a bygone era in Waikiki and captures the sizzle of brushes on a snare drum and ‘sock’ cymbal, the use of maracas, congas and bongos, and the uplifting rhythms of the vibraphones, the bass, the steel guitar, and the piano. When Raiatea Helm’s sparkling vocals are placed within the energy of this effervescent instrumentation, she breathes new life to songs from a by-gone era that were once performed throughout Waikiki and known simply as “Hawaiian Club” music.

1. Namolokama
2. ‘Aina O Moloka‘i
3. Punahou
4. Nani Hanalei
5. The One They'd Call Hawai‘i
6. The Cockeyeed Mayor of Kaunakakai
7. Ka Beauty Mahiehie
8. Lihue
9. Kaulana Ke Kuahiwi O Haleakala
10. Moonlight & Shadows
11. Sea of Love

Search Site

My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.